Second City Signing 2015

Hi Everyone,

I admit I have been a bit slow in publishing this post and I haven’t actually been around on the blog much recently. I have been writing my new book, Wanted You More, and have been more active on my Facebook page than I have here. I’m sorry about that, I hope you can all forgive me?!

I wanted to tell you about my first ever book signing. I have never attended one as a reader or as an author until July 2015. I was honoured to be invited to attend Second City Signing as an author and I had the most wonderful time, I honestly couldn’t have asked for it to go better.

11039842_1581786698768042_8163332048042095994_n

As a sufferer of anxiety, I built it up in my mind that the experience would overwhelm me, but I had long enough to prepare and get myself in the right mindset for the day itself. I am so glad I did.

I woke up on the morning of July 18th in a hotel in Birmingham with my friend Justine. I was awake early and excited. The anticipation of the day ahead was still a nagging doubt at the back of my mind, and although that was the case, I had to just brave it, pull up my big girl panties and go and show my face to the readers.

I was awestruck when I got to the room. I was sat opposite Jodi Ellen Malpas and Sophie Jackson, I was fan-girling majorly.

My assistant helped me to get my table ready and just like that, I was an author, ready to greet the readers, some new to my books and some that have been with me throughout my journey. It was ah-may-zing!! I signed books, gave away swag, chatted to people and posed for photographs. Having never really liked having my photo being taken, that was one of the things I was least looking forward to – but it turned out I didn’t mind whatsoever.

I had hoped to get round to visit other authors both in my room and in others (there were several rooms to accommodate the amount of attending authors), but as it turned out, I didn’t really have much time. I didn’t get out of the Legends Lounge, where I was based. I didn’t even get time to sit down and eat my lunch until all  the other authors were packing away at the end of the day. I did manage to have a break here and there to go and visit some other lovely authors in the Legends Lounge though. It was one of the busiest days of my life. The experience was thrilling. I was on a major high and I don’t think I stopped buzzing for several days afterwards.

For all my worrying that my anxiety would cripple me, I had a day that was *mostly* free from worry. I had a little wobble at the beginning of the day, but friends and the organiser, Cassie, got me through it.

I am so very thankful that Cassie invited me to attend such a marvellous event and I cannot express the depth of my gratitude for her taking a chance on a newbie author such as myself.

In all, a wonderful day was had. I left with 74 signed books, a major swag haul and possibly some of the best photos I have ever been in. I squealed with joy as Sophie Jackson posed for a photo with me, as she held a copy of one of my books and I held hers. I was lucky enough to have my photo taken with JEM too, she is SO gorgeous! Plenty of other delightful authors came and had photos with me and so did many readers.

I might have been on my feet for 99.9999% of the day, my back might have been aching, my leg may have been taking the strain, but I was so happy that the aches and pains of the day were washed away as I went for a meal with Justine and author Carrie Anne Ward after getting back to the hotel. I ate the most wonderful streak I’ve ever tasted and washed it down with a long island iced tea. To say that was the cherry on top of the cake…

Here are some of the photos from one of the best days I can ever remember having…

Thank you to everyone who came and saw me that day. I want you to know I appreciate every single one of you.

cooltext1085799173

Leave a Reply

